Cream of Zucchini and Potato Soup Without the Cream

September 19, 2015

cream of zucchini soup

My friend Theresa sent me this soup recipe with her personal stamp of approval. Good thing because the ingredient list didn’t catch my interest and I doubt I would have tried it otherwise. However, it is super fast and easy to make and its absolutely delicious. My Mom and I made it and it was so good we did not even bother adding the milk. I made it again and added cashew milk which made it really rich tasting. With or without the milk, I highly recommend trying this soup.

We used golden yellow zucchini and added carrots to mix so that the soup was a gorgeous creamy yellow color. If you use green zucchini, you still get a creamy colored soup but with green flecs in it. I added parsley to the soup so the green flecs aren’t noticeable.

I am sure the soup would also be good substituting any other winter squash for the zucchini. But this time of year I have too many zucchini and too few zucchini recipes, so a recipe using 6 cups of zucchini is welcome in my house.

Cream of Zucchini and Potato Soup

  • 2 or 3 medium potatoes, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 medium zucchini, chopped (about 6 cups chopped)
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 1/2 to 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 or 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 vegetable bouillon cubes (or bouillon for flavoring 4 cups liquid)
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, finely chopped (1 tbsp dried)
  • 3 cup unsweetened plant based milk (soy or cashew recommended)

Sep 19 2015_Soup ingredients

Roughly chop the veggies and place in a large saucepan. Add water and bouillon. Bring to a boil and simmer until veggies are tender. Blend a small amount at a time in a blender until smooth. (Use a hand held immersion blender for a chunkier soup) Add the milk and season with salt and pepper to taste. (note if your bouillon is salted you may not require any additional salt) Do not boil soup after milk has been added. Reheat gently on the stove or in a double boiler.

Leave a Reply

