Whole Food Plant Based Baked Potato

March 15, 2016

I love potatoes, every way possible, especially baked. My dilemma, how to make a tasty whole food plant based baked potato.

I love baked potato mixed with squash (butternut, buttercup, summer sunshine or any other bright orange fleshed squash). The squash adds nice moisture and color along with lots of phytonutrients, antioxidants and fibre. However, when preparing my baked potato for supper tonight, I hit on a great topping – Oil Free Maple Mustard Salad Dressing. I have been enjoying this dressing on my kale salads for the last few days (recipe with the March 13, 2016 Cooking Class post) and decided to try it on the potato along with some squash and a sprinkling of nutritional yeast. It adds a nice zip to the potato. [update: another great whole food topping I found for a baked potato is mashed avocado]

potato

 

What’s for supper tonight – a partial repeat of the March 13, 2016 cooking class menu. Kale Salad with cranberry, pumpkin seeds, maple mustard dressing and pecan parmesan; a baked potato with squash, maple mustard dressing and nutritional yeast; a spoon full of homemade raw unpasteurized sauerkraut (great probiotics, a healthy gut is a happy gut); and a couple of homemade beet pickles.  You could add a bunch of cooked black beans to the potato for a bigger hit of protein, but this plate was enough for me.

chia

And for dessert, I made another Chia Pudding, this time using a mashed banana for sweetening and substituting 1 tablespoon of chia seeds with 3 tablespoons of rolled oats.  However, I am stuffed after the supper, so I will save the pudding for breakfast and have it topped with frozen blueberries and granola. How sweet is that, dessert for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

