Cookbook Review – Oh She Glows Every Day

September 29, 2016

Angela Liddon’s new cookbook, “Oh She Glows Every Day” was just released two weeks ago. I pre-ordered my copy (and three more, one for each of my kids) so I am already enjoying the recipes. I am a big fan of her first cookbook, “The Oh She Glows Cookbook“, as well as her on-line blog and was eager to see what was new from her.  At first I was a bit disappointed as there didn’t seem to be much in the way of Wow Recipes. However, I soon realized that is the theme of the cookbook – quick and easy to prepare everyday recipes. As I am now a grandmother looking for great kid friendly recipes, I appreciate Angela’s suggestions on feeding kids.

So far I have tried several of the recipes and Angela does not disappoint.  While the recipes are easy to prepare for everyday eating, they as so delicious you will want to serve them for company. So far I have tried:

Sheppard’s Pie – this is the first recipe I tried, and I made it for company. A hearty lentil pie topped with garlic mashed potatoes and served with her Cozy Gravy. This gravy is easy to make and so delicious. I am craving mashed potatoes just thinking about it. I used to make my Sheppard’s pie very runny so I would have lots of sauce to mix with the potato topping; however, I like her version with a ‘drier’ filling and gravy on the side. I served the Sheppard’s Pie with a garden fresh cucumber, tomato and red onion salad. For dessert, Angela’s Apple Crisp from her first cookbook. My non-vegan company lapped it up and declared the meal delicious.

Satiety Smoothie – A delicious stick to your ribs smoothie made with almond milk, hemp seeds, frozen bananas, frozen blueberries and cinnamon. I did modify slightly to eliminate the protein powder and avocado and add a handful of fresh greens. (after all its not a smoothie without leafy greens!) I love the combo of banana, blueberry and cinnamon. Delicious and filling.

Coconut Chia Pudding – Can’t go wrong with a classic chia pudding served with fresh fruit. I love this for breakfast or a satisfying dessert after a simple supper.

Creamy Thai Carrot Sweet Potato Soup – a rich cream soup with a good bit of kick from red curry paste. Made this one for a couple of local ladies who came over to pick wild mushrooms.  If you are not a spicy food fan, reduce the red curry paste to 1 tablespoon and omit the cayenne. Personally, I found it spiced just right. Made with carrots, sweet potatoes and almond butter its a bit different then the usual coconut milk Thai soup. Omit the oil she uses for frying up the onion and fry in a small amount of water instead.

6 Vegetable and “Cheese” Soup – made with onion, garlic, celery, carrots, broccoli (I used cauliflower) and sweet potato this is a very veggie cream soup with added nutritional yeast for a cheesy taste. I liked it as it was; however, it was much better with a bit of added cashew cream. (Creamed 1/2 cup of soaked cashews with water) I used cauliflower instead of broccoli as I didn’t have any broccoli and I really liked the taste and the color of the soup. A rich lemony yellow color. Omit the oil she uses for frying up the onion and fry in a small amount of water instead.

Eggplant Parmesan – My favorite dish at the Olive Garden used to be Eggplant Parmesan and I have been looking for a vegan alternative. Most recipes are just too fussy and use a lot of oil for frying. This recipe was remarkably easy to prepare and the taste did not disappoint.  While sweating the eggplant, I quickly mixed up the milk/flour batter and a pumpkin seed parmesan. The rounds are baked up crispy in the oven without the use of any oil. I also did a batch using zucchini and they were also excellent. Angela recommends serving them with a marinara sauce on top of pasta; however, I like mine without the pasta and using the marinara as a dipping sauce. Ken and I polished off a whole eggplant and large zucchini in one sitting. I can’t wait to make again and again.

Mac and Trees – A classic cheesy sauce made with potato, carrot and cashews served on pasta with broccoli. Her recipe called for a couple tablespoons of oil added to the sauce but I omitted and the sauce was still rich and creamy.

Secret Ingredient Chocolate Pudding –  Delicious, nutritious, fast and easy. You will never guess the secret ingredient – and its not avocado. It adds a great nutritional punch while adding creaminess. Serve this to your kids without any guilt.

Peanut Better Balls – I am in love with these. The balls are super easy to make with peanut butter, maple syrup, coconut flour and brown rice crisps and are coated in dark chocolate. The second batch I made, I rolled the balls in hemp seeds before coating in chocolate for an extra nutritional punch. These are not too sweet and very satisfying. I omitted the coconut oil she adds to the melted chocolate as I don’t find it necessary. Just melt a good quality chocolate on very low heat.

Homemade Coconut Butter – Who knew you could make your own coconut butter using regular shredded coconut. I haven’t used the butter for anything yet but could not resist the temptation to make my own. It turned out so smooth and creamy. Unbelievable when you consider the price of store bought coconut butter. Next to try her Macaroons made with coconut butter.

This is a great cookbook. Although many of the recipes call for oil, I was able to omit it and still get a great end result. There are no fancy ingredients, no fussing around. Just great, simple, nutritious, flavorful food for every day.  What more could you ask for.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

